Oil Spill Response & Preparedness Committee


In December of 1991, the MFSA Board of Directors established the MFSA Oil Spill Response and Preparedness Committee.  Committee members include representatives of the steamship and towboat industries as well as the US Coast Guard and State regulators from Oregon and Washington.  Their many responsibilities include overseeing the implementation of the MFSA Vessel Response Plan.


The committee meets every other month at the Hilton Hotel in Vancouver, Washington, where the group discusses current regulatory issues, activities at the State and Federal level, recent spills, training events, the Plan, and other needs as seen by industry members.  MFSA's goal is to better use the plan and better serve the industry by bridging the regulatory gap.


Current Committee Members


Industry Representatives

Cale Karrick, Transmarine Navigation - Committee Chair

Richard Vincent, Port of Portland

Ken Mishler, Port of Vancouver

Kate Mickelson, CRSOA

Sean Clark, Port of St. Helens

Bryon Fletcher, Harley Marine/Olympic Tug & Barge

Mark Price, Port of Longview

Demetri Papachristopoulos, North American Shipping Agencies

Ross McDonald, Sause Bros. Towing


Regulatory Participants

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)

US Coast Guard (USCG) - Sector Columbia River - Incident Management Division (IMD)

Washington State Department of Ecology (ECY)


Other Participants

Holly Robinson, Maritime Fire & Safety Association

Curtis Cannizzaro, Maritime Fire & Safety Association / Clean Rivers Cooperative

Steve Dobbins, Columbia River Pilots

MFSA Interim Spill Response Coordinators