The mission of the Fire Protection Agencies Advisory Council (FPAAC) is to
set forth a comprehensive system which ensures fast, well-coordinated, and
effective response to vessel fire incidents in the Lower Columbia Region; and,
to protect and enhance the quality of life of the citizens within the region, and
safeguard the health, safety and welfare of the users of the waterway through
agency coordination and loss prevention.


Participating FPAAC Agencies


Astoria Fire Department


Clark County Fire District No. 6, Chief Jerry Green


Clark County Fire & Rescue, Chief John Nohr


Clatskanie Rural Fire Protection District, Chief Steve Sharek


Columbia River Fire & Rescue, Chief Jay Tappan


Cowlitz Co. Fire District No. 1, Chief Eric Dehning


Cowlitz County Fire District No. 5, Chief Vic Leatzow


Cowlitz 2 Fire & Rescue, Chief Dave LaFave


Longview Fire Department


Port of Portland Fire Department Chief Craig Funk


Portland Fire & Rescue, Chief Mike Myers


Scappoose Rural Fire District, Chief Michael Greisen


Vancouver Fire Department, Chief Joe Molina


U.S. Coast Guard - Sector Columbia River, Capt. William Timmons, Sector Commander



FPAAC Leadership


FPAAC Chair, Chief Steve Sharek

Clatskanie Rural Fire Protection District


FPAAC Co-Chair, Chief Vic Leatzow

Cowlitz Fire District #5


Planning Section Chair, Division Chief Tom O'Connor

Vancouver Fire Department


FPAAC Training Coordinator, Lt. Don Doyle

Longview Fire Department


Logistics Section Chair, Capt. Jim Sestric

Portland Fire & Rescue


Finance Section Chair, Liz Wainwright

Executive Director, Maritime Fire & Safety Association


MFSA Assistant Manager, Curtis Cannizzaro

Maritime Fire & Safety Association